MARAN Celebrates New NUJ Lagos Chairman with Razzmatazz

NUJ Chairman Lagos state and former president of MARAN, Mr Leye Ajayi .

By Sandra Chukwunyere

The Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN),  has concluded  plans in  a grand reception and lecture, to celebrate and honour its former President, Mr Leye Ajayi who was recently  elected the Chairman,  Lagos Council of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ).

MARAN prides itself as the foremost umbrella body of all maritime Journalists in Nigeria, founded in 1988.

 In a statement issued in Lagos on Monday by the President and Secretary of the association, Anya Njoku and Dapo Olawuni, the creme-de-la-creme of the Nigerian Maritime sector are billed to attend the event under the Chairmanship of Prince Olayiwola Shittu, former President of the Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA)

The grand reception will take place at  Rockview Hotel in Apapa, Lagos on Thursday March, 25th 2021 at 11am prompt.

This novel event will have as its theme,  ”National  Development: The Challenges of and the Prospects for the Proper Implementation of the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act in Nigerian Maritime Industry “

Mr Olawuni  quoted the President of MARAN, Mr Anya Njoku as saying that “MARAN is proud of one of its own, Leye Ajayi who was a bonafide member of the association until his emergence as the Lagos NUJ Chairman”

“Mr Ajayi had served MARAN meritoriously at different times and different capacities as Secretary General and later as President” 

“The Association is therefore planning a grand reception to celebrate his electoral success”  

Continuing, Mr Olawuni revealed that the grand reception and lecture aims to ensure a collaboration between the Maritime Press, Maritime Public and Agencies of Government.

 Presenting the lead paper is Mr Emeka Okoroanyanwu, a seasoned Journalist and Editor of the XPRESS Newspaper,  one of the founders of MARAN in 1988. 

Also, the former General Manager, Lagos Traffic FM, Mr. Layinka Adagun, a pioneer MARAN Member, would be a panel discussant to enhance the theme’s perspectives. 

Those expected at the event as special guests of honor are; the Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Ms Hadiza Bala Usman, the Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Executive Secretary of Nigerian Shippers Council, Barr Hassan Bello, and the Managing Director, National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA) Dr George Moghalu.

Others are; Assistant Comptroller General of Customs in charge of Zone ‘A’ Lagos, ACG Kaycee Ekekezie and the Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Gbenga Omotosho.

The Chief Guests of Honors are; Chairman of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN) Princess Dr Vicki Haastrup, the President General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) Comrade Adewale Adeyanju and immediate past chairman of Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) Aare Hakeem Olanrewaju.

Also on the roll call are Founder,  National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (Nagaff), Dr. Boniface Aniebonam and President of ANLCA,  Hon Iju Tony  Nwabunike.
   It is also remarkable to note that, all MARAN past presidents and executives would be present to grace the grand occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *