Lagos Assembly Invites Sanwo-olu’s Nominees For Final Screening This Week

Babajide Sanwo-Olu

By Maritime Security News

The Lagos State House of Assembly has invited 11 nominees for the State Executive Council, Civil Service Commission and Lagos State House of Assembly Service Commission (LAHASCOM) for final screening tomorrow.

Giving the report of the 8-man Adhoc Committee on Screening of Governor’s Nominees during plenary, Chairman of the Committee, Hon. Rotimi Abiru said that all the nominees met the criteria of the Committee.

He stated that all the nominees were screened by the Committee on Friday December 13, 2019 and that they all answered the questions put to them and provided all the necessary documents.

While some members, including Hon. Tunde Braimoh, Hon. Rotimi Olowo and Hon. Gbolahan Yishawu wanted to know the specific performances of the nominees, 

However,  Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa said that there was no need to doubt the competence of the committee because they had done it in the past. 

“The nominees would still be invited by the House to defend their nominations and this would give us an opportunity to know their ability and capability,” Obasa said.

The report of the Committee was thereafter adopted as resolution of the House and motion for its adoption was moved by Hon. Abiodun Tobun and supported by Hon. Victor Akande.

 Recalled that the three commissioner-nominees screened by the Committee on Friday December 13, 2019 included Mr Ganiyu Ayuba, Mr Olugbenga Oyerinde and Bamigbose Martins.

The Assembly had on August 16, 2019 rejected three of the cabinet nominees presented to it for approval by Sanwo-Olu, necessitating their replacement.

Those rejected by the house included  Mr Ajayi Bembe, Mr George Obafemi and Prince Olanrewaju Sanusi.

The eight other nominees screened by the Committee included three for the state House of Assembly Service Commission and five for the state Civil Service Commission.

Those screened for the Assembly Service  Commission included Hon. Akeem Bello, a former member of the 8th Assembly, Hon. Kabiru Lawal,  a member of the House from 2007 – 2015 and Mr Richard Osungboye.

 Nominees screened for the state Civil Service Commission were Mr Babatunde Seriki, a former member of the House, Hon. Avoseh Suuru, Mr Adesina Odeyemi, Mrs Olubunmi Fabanwo and Mr Kamalrudeen Olorunoje.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *